top of page

And So It Begins...

Ouch. It's been ten days since I last blogged. So much has happened and while I have had some down time I haven't used it to blog. Therefore I must attempt to cut the head off of this apathetic snake of a habit now so I don't become a complacent bum in the future.

Today is the day: I leave for Japan in about 1.5 hours. I am certainly excited but I am also serenely subdued. I think that's because I didn't sleep at all last night (by choice). My theory--and it could be as flawed as Kevin Durant's decision to join the Warriors--is that by pulling an all-nighter I will be in a better place to adapt to the time zone difference (about sixteen hours). Only problem is that it is currently 3am Sunday in Japan while it is 11am Saturday here. However when I arrive in Narita after my 10 hour flight it will be about 3:00pm. In short, I don't know what to expect. This could be my best move yet or I may be inevitably doomed to failure and jet lag. We will see. As of now, I'm not even that tired--just airy. I am simply existing.

My farewell tour is complete. I made the rounds spending time with friends, family, and loved ones. My travels spanned a few states including Washington, California, and Colorado. For the last month I have not worked nor have I resided anywhere permanently. If I attempted to typify myself, I must fall somewhere between nomad and bum. For one who values stability and certainty, I rather enjoyed the transience and transition of late. That being said, I am ready to settle and lay down some roots. I hope there will be a gym in Gotō. I can't do cardio indefinitely.

I am in regular contact with my predecessors on the island as well as the prefectural advisors. I am confident this is a good group of people. They will all be my "senpai" (mentors?) and I know I can learn a ton from them. May Providence grant me the patience and wisdom to serve abroad with an open heart and an open mind.

Fun fact: I almost left my passport on the bus yesterday. It slipped out of my blazer as I shuffled some clothes around. I can't even imagine how shocked and terrified I would have been so I simply laughed. Classic Will.

BREAKING NEWS COURTESY OF REPORTER BRECKENRIDGE OF THE UNASSOCIATED PRESS: Delta overbooked the flight to Narita and is offering a $1,000 voucher for customers willing to give up their seats. Not going to lie I wondered what it would be like to accept...I'm sorry, I'm just kidding. Perish the thought! I am mischievous but sensible! In any case, JET would not be pleased.

You know, I could say more but I'm boarding soon. Let's call it a wrap. I'll post soon!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page