top of page

Undokai Rehash and Tidbits

Nine days ago Sakiyama Elementary and Sakiyama Junior High hosted a joint "undokai". Well, what is an undokai? You're in luck! I'll tell you.

Though I don't know the historical roots other than the common refrain, "we have always done it this way in Japan", for years Japanese schools hosted Sports Day to show off the students' hard work (and the school's planning) to proud parents, grandparents, other relatives, and members of the community. Schools all over the country host it once a year from my largest school of about 300 students, Midori Elementary, to my smallest school of seven students, Saganoshima Junior High and Elementary School.

It was as much a competition as it is a performance. Students compete against one another in teams. While larger schools use a variety of colors to designate teams, there are only enough students for two colors at both Sakiyama schools: red and white (which are conveniently Japan's flag colors).

And there was certainly a feeling of patriotism present at the performance-competition. The students raised the nation's flag, stood silently listening to the national anthem, and marched in rank during the opening ceremony as if they were soldiers. Several times over the years I enjoyed reading Bruce Feiler's "Learning to Bow", which documents an American teacher teaching English in Japan. Published in 1991, Feiler noticed how the flag, the national anthem, and other open displays of patriotism were practically shunned as they reminded the Japanese people of the country's militaristic history. Fast-forward to the present, this attitude is changing as the Japanese are once again taking pride in being Japanese.

To continue this brief tangent, the sense of patriotism is present around Fukue too in the propaganda posters I have seen of Prime Minister Abe pictured below. The text on the right, which I am proud to admit I understood without translating, basically says: "This is the way. We will be powerful like before." It's very interesting; I will endeavor to watch Japanese politics closely for however long I live here.

After a number of speeches by teachers, the principal, and members of the Board of Education, the games began. It was very neat and inclusive in the sense that the students had joint as well as grade-specific activities; a 1st grader never competed against 5th, 6th, or 7th graders for example, but against his/her peers. There were also community games and activities including a traditional dance open to everyone, a teachers' tug-of-war, a game for the grandparents/seniors, and parent/student relay races. While a ton of Japanese escaped me, the smiles, laughs, and genuine joy expressed did not.

Initially I played the role of observer. The teachers were so busy preparing for and cleaning up each activity that I simply aimed to stay out of the way. I was not required to attend the undokai but was invited to do so, which I did because I was curious and truly had no other plans that Sunday morning/afternoon other than watching "That 70s Show" on Netflix. Yet as the day progressed, I accepted invitations to participate in the traditional dance, the tug-of-war (my team won both times), and this peculiar game where I and two other students carried a giant inflated ball above our heads in a figure-eight pattern around cones (the undersized jersey looked great on me). I also made a point to stay and clean up afterwards. Again, I had no other obligations that day and wanted to help out as not only a part of the team, but as a member of the community.

Students ran, shouted in pep rallies, danced, sang, and did many other activities. Their discipline and focus impressed me. They exhibited "gaman"--a uniquely Japanese word meaning patience, endurance, and self-control--throughout the day. Weeks of training led up to this day and on Sunday the 18th their hard work paid off in an excellent performance. No doubt many of them might have preferred to sleep in and watch TV that day but I think they lived up to their family's, school's, and community's expectations. After helping clean up, I went home, showered, and then joined the teachers for a delicious post-enkai celebration dinner.

Tidbit Time

1. Can't Gloss Over Smoke and Fire: Have I presented a glossy image of Japan? I feel like I have. I endeavor not to complain about things--for one, I have very little to complain about; second, I feel honored to live here and do not want to appear spoiled. But the one thing that grinds my gears is the periodic burning of presumably garbage out here in the countryside. There is a plot of land mere meters from my apartment where people burn stuff. The smoke is unpleasant and stings my eyes. I'm not whining though--merely venting. And I'm done. Honestly in the ranking of nuisances, Hillary Clinton, Donald Trump, and the Golden State Warriors are substantially higher on my loathing list than some old Goto folks burning garbage.

2. Go Big or Go Home: I recently learned this Friday will be my first "kenkyu jugyo" (research class?). The rest of the teachers at my school including my supervisor and mentor from the Board of Education will come to my class to observe me teach with my other teachers (two of my classes at Sakiyama Elementary are unique in that I teach with two other teachers). It is an opportunity for teachers to see how other teachers teach--and for me to prove my value and worth.

3. Hardly Phased: I am actually not really anxious or anticipated by the upcoming kenkyu jugyo. The past few months have conditioned me to surprises and unexpected developments. I am cultivating a feeling of detachment, which isn't to suggest I am jaded or unemotional. On the contrary, I am enjoying my time here immensely. Rather it takes a lot to surprise or overwhelm me because I have received so many surprises this year since I learned I was hired to teach in Japan.

4. Korea-bound: On Thursday the 6th after school I leave for Korea! I will take a ferry/jetfoil to Nagasaki and then catch a train to Fukuoka. I leave Japan Friday morning and will be gone until the following Tuesday. I am incredibly excited. I am ashamed to admit that I know very little about Korea, but will certainly use this opportunity to acquaint myself with it!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page